On Editing, Tardiness and the Pressures of School

Hey everyone (emphasis on one)!

I have good news, and I have bad news. The good news? I’m pretty far along with editing my story. I gave up on the unrealistic schedule I had set for myself and have been pacing myself quite nicely. (I’m even a little bit ahead!)

The bad news?

School exists. Unfortunately.

And I have one teacher in particular that seems to take it upon himself to make sure every child he teaches has no free time. We have a rather large paper due in March, and I am ever so slightly behind, since I have been in denial that I am in school.

So I will have to put editing my story on hold for a bit while I sort out my priorities.

That being said, I am not giving up on editing my story. Every spare second I have between school, homework, Star Trek, band, bass, soccer, and whatever the hell else I have going on will be dedicated to editing my story. I might even cut back on Star Trek (le gasp!)

That also being said, the in-depth reviews I was planning on doing (Alanna: The First Adventure, Frozen, Merlin’s Blade, and Linked) will be on hiatus until further notice.

But never fear, I will try to post short weekly recommendations for good (And bad) books and movies, as well as a (very) short review. The first few will more likely than not revolve around China, since that’s what the big paper is on.

So to everyone who’s following this, I thank you kindly and hope that you will support me in this stressful time. No doubt in a few weeks I will hit my scholastic stride and be able to take more on. But until then, please hang tight!

 

Good Book Alert!

I recently read the book Linked by Imogen Howson. It’s a fairly new book set in a (in my opinion) Star Trek- inspired futuristic world.

Here’s the inside flap:

Elissa used to have it all: looks, popularity, and a bright future. But for the last three years, she’s been struggling with terrifying visions, phantom pains, and mysterious bruises that appear out of nowhere. 

Finally, she’s promised a cure: minor surgery to burn out the overactive area of her brain. But on the eve of the procedure, she discovers the shocking truth behind her hallucinations: she’s been seeing the world through another girl’s eyes. 

Elissa follows her visions, and finds a battered, broken girl on the run. A girl—Lin—who looks exactly like Elissa, down to the matching bruises. The twin sister she never knew existed. 

Now, Elissa and Lin are on the run from a government who will stop at nothing to reclaim Lin and protect the dangerous secrets she could expose—secrets that would shake the very foundation of their world.

I personally loved it. The characters are well written and organic, and I love the fantasy elements, and how it ties into the plot twist towards the end of the book. Maybe this is just my inner nerd talking, but the futuristic world Elissa inhabits is very well-explained without ever seeming too expositional. It also seems a realistic jump in technology.

I found it hard to put the book down once it started, so beware!

So, that’s it for this post. Please keep this blog in mind, and don’t give up on me!

Leave a Reply

