Thank You! and Future Plans

Everyone!

You guys rock. In the first half an hour after I posted my good news/bad news post, I got 8 people either following my blog or liking the post.

..Now that I put it in writing it seems infinitesimal, but let me tell you, every single like or follow I get, I thank you soooo much. I have to get around to thanking all of you personally, and maybe following a few of you as well. But that will probably come later, sorry.

I have figured out a plan so I can edit about a page a day or my story without losing sleep.

Lunch time.

Now, I go to a private school, and our lunch period lasts all of twenty minutes, so there’s not a lot of time, but I usually finish pretty early anyway. My friends have realized that I’m not in their world when the folder and red pen come out. They tend to leave me alone after that.

As for future plans. This weekend is Martin Luther King Jr. weekend, go America! So I have a three day weekend. On Friday (today) I plan to take it easy: watch Star Trek, draw, go to bed early.

On Saturday, I am going to get up a bit early and spend the whole day doing homework. I have about 9 hours’ worth of homework to do over the weekend, but I should be able to get at least most of it done.

On Sunday I plan to finish editing my story, type it out, and reprint it so my friend can read it over, as she has been begging to do so for the last few months. She has even taken to trying to steal my folder during study hall.

So with that said, I’ll get going. But first!!!!

 

Book alert!

After reading Linked, I read a book called Merlin’s Blade. It’s by Robert Treskillard, and it’s a really interesting take on the Arthurian Legend.

The inside flap:

A strange meteorite.
A deadly enchantment.
And only Merlin can destroy it.

A meteorite brings a mysterious black stone whose sinister power ensnares everyone except Merlin, the blind son of a swordsmith. Soon, all of Britain will be under its power, and he must destroy the stone—or die trying.

Dun dun duuuuuunnn!

 

I thought it was… okay. The beginning was pretty good, and the ending was fantastic, but for about 250 pages in the middle, it was kinda…meh…

The main problem I have with this writer is that there are a lot of characters that are called by different names. (Merlin’s dad is called: “Merlin’s Father”, “Merlin’s tas” “Tas” (By Merlin) and “Oswain”). I’m not necessarily against this, but I just couldn’t place characters in the right setting.

For instance, there’s this one monk who’s kinda important to the plot. All I remember about him is that his name began with a “D” and a character named Garth hid his (Garth’s) bagpipe in the bottom of D’s chest.

He also helped destroy this meteorite, but I don’t remember him name.

And that bugs me as a reader. If you can deal with not knowing a lot about characters, great. You’ll love this book. If you love Tolkein, you might like this book.

If you hate Tolkein, you might still like this book. The plot is still very good, and the origins of popular Merlin myths (sword in the stone, Lady of the Lake) are explained really well and very cleverly.

I like how the main character has such a big impediment that turns out to save him. Though I couldn’t think of Merlin as anyone other than Colin Morgan. I just couldn’t. Nothing anyone could have done would have stopped that. But still, it wasn’t really that distracting.

Another problem? The ending is a little “Deus ex machina” (The ending of The Avengers.). There is one problem (slightly major, depending on your viewpoint) that gets solved by an angel for crissakes. And it’s not even Castiel!

Sorry. Supernatural reference was 100% necessary.

Which leads me to another point.

This book is very Christian. Talk of God giving people strength, people having religious conversions, and giving their lives to God. If you don’t like this, don’t read it.

 

Well, that’s it. I need to return to my regular scheduling of Star Trek. I’m in the middle of the episode with the telekinetic aliens! (“Plato’s Stepchildren”)

See ya, chaps!

Leave a Reply

